Salt Lake City, UT - The 2015 Penn Mutual Varsity Cup National Rugby Collegiate Championship will take place at Rio Tinto Stadium on Saturday, May 2. The Championship is slated for 2:00 p.m. MT and features the winners of the Varsity Cup Semifinals taking place this Saturday. The championship match will be broadcast live on NBC Sports Network.

Media looking to cover the event can apply for a media credential using the following link. The application deadline is Tuesday, April 28.

Utah’s own Brigham Young University advanced to the 2015 Penn Mutual Varsity Cup semifinal last weekend, defeating UCLA 45-16, continuing their perfect 12-0 season. The Cougars remain the only college from Utah in the tournament after University of Utah was eliminated for the second consecutive year by Central Washington in a narrow 18-7 loss on April 11.  BYU is next scheduled take on CWU this Saturday, April 18 at 1:00 p.m. MT at South Field in Provo. The match marks the 50th Anniversary of BYU Rugby and will include a flag raising ceremony recognizing the 2014 Championship team.

In the other semi-final pairing, Navy challenges California on Saturday at 2:30 p.m. MT at Witter Rugby Field at University of California Berkeley. Navy got by Clemson 24-23 last weekend while Cal handled Texas 100-7.

The winners from each of Saturday’s semifinal rounds will face off in the 2015 Penn Mutual Varsity Cup Championship at Rio Tinto Stadium on May 2 at 2:00 p.m. MT. An updated Varsity Cup bracket can be found here.

A multitude of additional rugby events will be held in conjunction with the Penn Mutual Varsity Cup College Rugby Final. The competition opens with the D1AA Collegiate Rugby Championship at 12:00 p.m. MT with a showdown of the best clubs from the Pacific Northwest, Sunshine, Southern California and Mountain conferences.  Spectator activities include the Rugby Fan Festival from 11:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. MT featuring interactive rugby games, sponsor giveaways, food, music, merchandise as well as participating Varsity Cup and D1AA teams providing information on opportunities for high school rugby players.

Tickets to the 2015 Penn Mutual Varsity Cup Rugby Championship at Rio Tinto Stadium can be purchased at

About The Penn Mutual Varsity Cup National Rugby Championship

The Penn Mutual Varsity Cup National Rugby Championship is the premier rugby postseason in the United States. Since the first National Collegiate Championship, Varsity Cup universities have won a total of 31 national titles in a span of 33 years. Moreover, Varsity Cup universities have earned 68 final four places during this same period, with Air force, Arkansas State, BYU, Cal, Dartmouth, Navy and Utah all having played their way to the final four. Since the inception of the Varsity Cup National Championship, Central Washington University and UCLA have added to the Varsity Cup’s list of final four participants. This brings total Varsity Cup university final four appearances to 76 over the course of 35 years. Varsity Cup universities have been crowned National Champions a total of 33 times in the 35-year history of the National Collegiate Championships.
For more information, please contact:
Trino Martinez, Penn Mutual Varsity Cup Public Relations,